Fourth Reflection, Adult 640

One of the most important lessons I learned from the storms and outages two weeks ago is that I need to be better prepared for the worst. This post might not be as brilliant as my others (hahahah!), but at least it’s done. And if I still have power tonight after the storms that are predicted I will have time to revise and add to it.

(ETA: …And nothing happened!)

This week our group lost sight of the goal of the big project. It was a holiday week, and speaking for myself, I got so bogged down in the research and writing for the Wiki post that was due Friday that I let everything else slip from me. I took something like six pages of notes and only transcribed two for my post. I completely overprepared. What was important in that assignment was reading what my classmates wrote and reacting to them.

I’m also really disappointed in myself for not responding to comments on my own blog and commenting on the blogs of people not in my triad. Everyone comes from such a diverse background and I can learn so much from interacting with them.

The two chapters we read this week were so different from each other. Chapter 12 focused completely on revenue of online programs. I actually know a bit about this from managing Summer School budgets so it was interesting to see the bigger picture, even though I did not understand all of it. I really liked chapter 14, about online teaching theory. Some of it really struck me as essential information, like the following quote:

“Allowing students to see the personal excitement and appeal that inspires the teacher’s interest in the subject.”

In the training I have done [HR policy], I have been really passionate and excited about leave and that definitely made the participants excited as well. That you have to convey the same excitement online is something I have never thought of before, but it makes complete sense.

The chapter also covered teacher presence, online learning flexibility, the cost of online education and how to facilitate discourse. Terry Anderson suggested that the key to discourse is trust of the instructor. Whatever happens in the beginning of the class sets the tone for the rest of the course, and if the students feel safe, they will participate.

Here is my favorite building near campus, near the intersection of Broad and Laurel:

Image

5 thoughts on “Fourth Reflection, Adult 640

  1. Melissa, I liked your blog – rawly honest. I too, am challenged with juggling tasks and staying focused, managing assignments with other things in life. Oops, didn’t mean to let that slip out, yes, I still have a life or what’s left of it when I have completed all my assignments – shhhh, don’t tell anyone! Learning lots but sometimes would like to slow down a bit and just linger in one place for awhile. Thanks for sharing..

  2. All three teams submitted their proposals on time … so any worries are self-inflicted. But that tells us something about online learning as well…which we will discuss on July 24 when we get back together.

  3. I liked your insight re: a teacher’s personal excitement. I do think a teacher’s passion for a subject makes a huge difference in student engagement. I have experienced both sides of the spectrum. When teachers are enthusiastic, like in this class, it draws me in. I am motivated to explore and participate more. When instructors teach from a “I’ve been assigned to this class” position it permeates their instruction and discourse. I find it harder to get excited about the classwork. I think of students as a mirror…teachers get back a reflection of themselves. While this is of course not 100% accurate, good teachers can certainly have unengaged students, I can think of more examples where “poor” students became exceptional ones under the facilitation of a passionate teacher. So, I am looking forward to learning more tips to communicate that passion in an online class.

  4. Go figure – I remind the group about blog replies last night, and then I forget about it!!
    Oh well, just add it to the pile, I ‘spose. Anyway, great blog, as always! I thought the chapter on theory was interesting as well and I think we’ll really be able use it in our group project. I think we had a great meeting last night, and who knew Google hangout could be so fun (and productive of course)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

