Adult 641, Reflection eight

I thought the screencasting lesson was very informative! Jess and I recently gave a presentation to 9 month faculty about leave and leave reporting. I have been getting email questions almost daily from faculty about how they report sick leave, despite an email being sent out that included that information and our presentation. Currently I cut & paste written directions from a draft email. If we did screencasts we could just send them links. Maybe we could create an Office of the Vice Provost for Instruction HR You Tube page! Not everyone learns the same way, so this would be extremely helpful to HR professionals. We get the same questions all the time–setting up email accounts, using eServices for employee info–and this would save so much time.

I also do student services and run the Summer Studies website and blog. I think screencasting could revolutionize the information I give students. My colleague sees this as a way to teach students (and faculty) how to register for restricted classes.

I know they probably don’t have enough manpower to do it, but VCU Human Resources would benefit greatly from doing screencasting for Banner procedures for departmental employees with HR responsibilities. For example, I can never remember how to do PHAREDS (a way to move payroll funds to different accounts), even though it hasn’t changed since I started at VCU almost 5 years ago. Why not screencast that process and make it easier to remember?

From my cursory research, screencasting is a flash-based process. I hope either Apple or Adobe gets their shit together soon so us iPad folks can so screencasting. Tablets were MADE for processes like this. My laptop does not have a working mic (or a camera at all, for that matter), which is why I got the iPad. Make it work, y’all!

UPDATE: I spent days trying to do screencasting on my laptop with Jing. I uploaded drivers, used different mics… nothing worked. So, to prove I know how to do it, here is my one-minute soundless screencast about creating a Spotify playlist.

11 thoughts on “Adult 641, Reflection eight

  1. Right on! You also see the instructional gaps screencasting could fill in the workplace. Many times people with the answers are so busy and consumed with their own work and sending off a quick screencast could be the best solution for everyone. In my former workplace they rolled out a new software program and teachers received little training to write these very important, very LEGAL documents. Many still haven’t figured it out and someone was going to create a step by step hard copy manual (talk about time consuming!) but I thought about suggesting screencasts. Jing is so simple to use!

  2. OMG! You totally just connected a dot for me!! We did a screencast to show our faculty how to use the i>clickers that VCU SOM uses. It saves us from having to make a million appts to show them in person because it is enough information so that most people feel comfortable using the software. I’m totally gonna update my blog to add the link – so you should check it out. Thanks!

    Oh, and I completely agree about screencasts for Banner processes!!!!

  3. Pingback: Reflective Workspace » 10/28/12(2) – My Screen(cast)

  4. I concur– screencasts for Banner (PHAREDS in particular) would be really helpful for a lot of folks. Those still-screen captures and step by step instructions don’t always do the trick for me. And I’m with you on the iPad woes! It really upsets me that Apple doesn’t support Flash…SO frustrating. I like the OVPIHR YouTube idea. 😉

    • I hate those cards they do for trainings. I’ve become almost desensitized to them.

      I have tried to do a screencast on my laptop multiple times but still no sound. I have downloaded drivers for my mic and it’s still not working. I want to cry. Damn you technology!

  5. Soundless….and yet very informative. And I agree with your Apple comment…now I am wondering if Windows 8 will solve all my problems! 🙂

  6. You make an interesting proposal about how screencasting can dramatically change how we share information, but question the ability of some people to actually use the resource. It all goes back to the digital literacy issue, for both the creator and the audience. What I think is of even greater signifigance is the battle between Apple and non-Apple users – at some point there is going to have be common ground so products are useable across all software and hardware.

Leave a Reply

