Adult 641, final project reflection and conclusions

I would like to say I was amazed by everyone’s projects, but truthfully, I was expecting the amazingness I saw last night! I was so inspired by all of you. I want to read the books you discussed, take a Coursera class (ok, just signed up for one with plans to take more) and use all the technology you did.

There was so much more I wanted to cover in my project, but it was already getting a little unwieldy. I am sad I didn’t use enough media in my presentation or blog. I also spent days working on this insane data project from AV Club but I could not come to any conclusions from it except readers don’t have much to say about Go On. This is where that PhD in Sociology would have come in handy!

Here are some of the conclusions I did come up with after a few hours to think about it.

Blogs are not dead. I read this in the Rosenberg book (I don’t have it with me), but the gentleman said that blogs as he knew it were dead, and they have been replaced by online magazines like Gakwer.

1. I don’t think Gawker is an online magazine, since most of their pieces are not as well-researched or as long as a typical article in The Economist.

2. Political blogs, which he also referenced as being dead, are alive and well.

3. Other blogging communities, like home and design (Young House Love is local and hugely popular), fashion (RCFA is my fave) and food (Serious Eats is a biggie but there are so many!) never slowed down.

4. I do believe the word “blog” has fallen out of favor with the media elite, but despite what they think, those people run like .0001% of all blogs. I think the definition has just changed.

Non-threaded comments do not promote discussion. This is a key point. When you have to scan through pages of comments to see someone who replied to you with an @Melissa, the immediacy of the discussion is gone. Disqus actually notifies you when you have replies–not by email (yuck), but on your actual account.

Smaller blogs do not promote discussion in the same way larger ones do. The blogs that I  mentioned in my project each have huge groups of regular commenters. A larger readership, threaded comments and posts which promote discussion all contribute to this. Take a blog like YHL, which does have threaded comments, if you scan through them you will see most people are making a quick comment or question and Sherry or John replies. They want to hear from the bloggers, not the other readers. I do think blogs like this have a community, but it’s either one that only the writers experience or it’s formed outside of the comments. Readers of home/DIY blogs post all over the Internet on bulletin boards about their own projects or about their love/hate relationships with the bloggers.

Will post one final reflection of the course this weekend!

One thought on “Adult 641, final project reflection and conclusions

  1. Pingback: Adult 641, Final Class Reflections « Melissa A. Koch

Leave a Reply

