Adult 642, reflection four

Adult Education

First: I know my presentation was terrible. I went first and had I known it was going to be more conversational I would have, like, prepared or something. Instead my group and I spent so much time writing the damn thing that we didn’t have much prep time left. Next week I’m going to spend more time working on the part I am actually going to say.

Giving the second project a more specific focus is making the work go much more smoothly. Since there is no content to review and analyze, we can spend our time researching creative ways to deliver the instruction and getting an organizational structure set up. I was very concerned about finding new ways to do group activity in particular: if I only used ideas taken from other classes I’ve been in, I would run out very quickly. So I’ve been doing some searching and there is A LOT of information out there.  This article has some great theory and this one, while 200 pages, has some amazing ideas for exercises.

The longer I’m spending with instructional design the more I think it’s INSANE that college faculty only need training to be experts in their topic of study/research/etc. and not to be excellent teachers. My sister-in-law the elementary school teacher had to take classes in ID in order to teach eight year olds. I am so glad that Dr. Carter is doing this adult education certificate program for doctors and I hope that one day it will be open to instructors on both campuses.

Photo of an adult learning class via NYPL on flickr.

6 thoughts on “Adult 642, reflection four

  1. You can never have too many resources when it comes to choosing ideas for engaging activities! When I took 603 (now rolled into 606), we talked about all sorts of cool things like Phillips 66, the Delphi Technique, and something called Fishbowl, which my team in 612 used for one of our projects. You create a small circle of chairs and fill all but one with students to talk about a topic. Only the students in the circle can be a pat of the discussion. With one open chair, someone else in the class but not in the circle can join the conversation, but someone already seated must then leave so that there is always an open seat — always inviting another opinion to the discussion.

    This week’s project came together much easier… can’t wait to hear what everyone comes up with again!

  2. Mel,
    It is rather disconcerting to think that individuals with little or no experience with pedagogy are charged with teaching on a university level. Unfortunately, this method of employing faculty for just their expertise in content is not a new idea. The workshops that the CTE offer are wonderful ways to open the doors of communication with junior and “would be” faculty members. I was encouraged by the interest and desire shown to develop those skills by those in attendance. The community is fortunate to have a resource such as the CTE that will support faculty members in their quest to become better teachers.

  3. Thanks for the great resources. I think everyone was a little apprehensive last week, not really knowing how the proposal was supposed to go and having so much material to look at.

Leave a Reply

