Adult 606, Reflection four

While I am enjoying reading about evaluation and converting my ABOs into the chart in HDTKTK, I am feeling that I wish this class  included something on creating rubrics for student assessment. I have created a few in Adult 642, and as an instructional designer, knowing how to create a rubric seems essential. It is often one of the things you have to deliver to your client. In my final project in that class, I designed several activities for a hybrid class and included rubrics for each one. It was incredibly difficult for me, and most of my information in rubric creation was found online.

Adult 606I know evaluations are important, especially to administrators, and they’re great tools for data collection. As I mentioned in class, I administer the evals for VCU’s Intersession every year. However, focusing on evaluation instead of student assessment/rubrics alienates those who want their careers to have a more academic focus.

Although I have no doubt my career will lead me to design trainings, I am also very interested in designing for academia. I am glad that I had the experience in 642 to help me with assessment/rubrics, but the other folks in the program who are not in the technology track did not get the same benefit.

I do enjoy the amount of time we get to work on our projects in class (the same for Consultintg). Meeting with groups, especially people who have know a little about my project via my presentation, this blog, or in independent group work outside of class, has really helped to grow my project and give me more ideas. One of the reasons I was so successful in 642 was that we designed in groups, so there was a constant stream of ideas and brainstorming. While having well-written ABOs and evals and such are a huge part of the project, equally huge in instructional design is the quality of ideas. Some people are naturally good at creating activities and writing instructions, but those of us who aren’t (ahem) really benefit from group work and brainstorming.

3 thoughts on “Adult 606, Reflection four

  1. Great post! In most (if not all) cases of concentrated programs (technology track vs HRD track vs etc), there should be information /process sharing. Things can be extremely important across the board. Things that may be discussed in teaching with technology may not be discussed in other programs. However, they could be as important in one track as they are in the other.

    Group work can be extremely helpful also, especially when other members in the group have little to no familiarity with your project. It truly helps you get a bird’s eye view of things. Additionally, it helps you see things from perspectives which were never considered. Successful tasks come from brainstorming because they take into account diverse ideas and experiences of everyone involved. Like you, I’m glad to have received external input. Thanks to you and to everyone along the way!

  2. Mel – your note about the quality of ideas is crucial. That is also what I enjoyed about ADLT 642, the sharing of ideas and group brainstorms was so synergistic for creative activities that accomplished the learning tasks we were working with! You should give yourself more credit because, as I recall, there were quite a few amazing ideas from you during that class. I think we all grew in our leadership skills and program planning abilities over the past two semesters. Congrats!

  3. Feedback is a gift! Definitely something I have learned to appreciate this semester! Not only from Dr. Hurst, but also from our classmates. Like Rodney and Katherine said, group work and brainstorming together create and build upon ideas that turn into successful aspects of program design and delivery. Being able to receive an outside point of view that isn’t as invested in your program as you are is so beneficial. The overall quality just sky rockets. I’m excited to hear that group thinking and peer feedback will be a constant theme throughout this program!

Leave a Reply

